Thing 29: Student Response Tools

For this tool. I chose 5 tools: See Saw, Plickers, Google Forms, Quizlet and Socrative. I looked through a variety of tools but I skipped many of them that you had to pay for and chose the ones that were free but also had a wide range of options and were also easy to use.

I can see K-2 teachers primarily using See-Saw in my building because it seems to be most easily used when you have access to an ipad. I downloaded the app on to my iphone and absolutely loved it. See-saw gives you the option to create classes and add students to each class. When students are using this app, all they have to do is scan their QR code using an iphone or ipad and are immediately brought to their classroom where they can find their name. Here, students are able to upload a photo, video, create a drawing, take a picture, write a note or include a link. What I love most about this app is that parents can download the parent version and sign in to view only their child’s folder. This is a great tool for teachers to showcase student work to parents or even communite on a daily basis about different things. I see this as a great tool for me in showcasing work I do in the library and also to communicate with parents.

The next tool I checked out was google forms, specifically because I have been working a lot with my google drive the past month (working in google docs, checking out different apps to use and learning how to use google classroom with my students). It’s very plain and simple in comparison to some of the other student response tools but I like it because my students in Grades 4-6 are already working with their individual google drive accounts and it seems to make more sense to use a student response tool that can tie into what they are already using on a daily basis. I practiced creating a few questions using Google forms and when you create, it automatically saves to your google drive account. It creates a link for students to use when answering the questions you have created. I see myself using this when I want a fast response and a way to quickly analyze which students may need more help with a subject/assignment.

I looked into Plickers because I am actually taking a PD next Tuesday on how to use it in the classroom. What I like about plickers is that the only technology you need is a device for yourself rather than for every student. Plickers provides you with sheets with a code on it that teachers use to scan and a number specific to each student in your class. The sheets have the letters A, B, C, D on them so it seems like the only downside to this is you can only use this tool to creat multiple choice questions. Once you have scanned each student’s answer all the data gets entered into the app on your phone. I can see using this when I don’t want to have students get on the computer.

The last two I focused on were Quizlet and Socrative (one of the main reasons I did was because they were both google apps). I plan on making sure that all my computers in the library have google chrome downloaded as a browser so that my students can use these through the google app. Quizlet I have used before but only primarily for vocabulary cards that other teachers have created (one of the reasons I like Quizlet because you can borrow from other teachers and there is a lot out there!). Quizlet allows you to create a list of word and a description and once you have entered them it creates options for student review: matching, flash cards and a test. I would use this more for review rather than assessment. The teacher edition which is $25/year gives you a few more options: aggregate class data, no advertisements and you can add audio and upload images. The thing about Socrative that first caught my eye was the space race they do. My kids are motivated by competition and I think this feature of Socrative make them a little more interested in what we’re doing. Socrative had a GREAT tutorial and outlines how to do everything. All students have to do is type in a code that allows them to enter their clasroom and find their name. It gives you the option of an exit ticket, quick question, quiz or space race. What I like most about this is how it organizes the data onces students have answered a question.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thing 29: Student Response Tools

  1. I’ll be curious about whether you end up liking Plickers or not. Sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

