Thing 19: Online Learning

For this tool, I choose to find a 50 minute archived webinar to watch entitled “Focus on Integration of Knowledge and Ideas”. I found this on Edweb, where I am a member, and it was given by Time for Kids. This webinar focused on three common core anchor standards: diverse media and formats (Standard 7), claims, reasons and evidence (Standard 8) and comparing texts (Standard 9) and how to address these through integration of the Time for Kids digital edition. All three standards discussed are standards that have been integrated into my library lessons this year across all grade levels. When I am writing my lesson plans, I use both the common core anchor standards as well as the Information Fluency Continuum benchmark skills to center what my lesson or unit will look like.

The first standard they discussed was diverse media and formats; in meeting this standard, students are taught to effectively use other sources at a readers disposal to help them understand text such as illustrations, maps, diagrams, charts, timelines, etc. In Time for Kid’s digital edition, readers are exposed to a variety of these text features to analyze during their reading. After the webinar, I went to the TFK’s website to look at the digital edition but I think you have to subscribe to get this edition and the only way to get the digital edition is if you are paying for the print edition. This was a bummer because they had some great examples of informational text for students to use. Along with this anchor standard, we are trying to teach students to evaluate sources. During the webinar, they put out interactive poll and asked the question “Do you think your students take a critical view toward information online?” and 77% answered “No, my students tend to trust most of what they read online.” This is one of the skills I struggle the most with my students. I use the CRAP method with my 5th and 6th graders to evaluate sources (currency, reliability, authority and point of view). TFK used a different strategy called WWWDOT (who, why, when, does it meet my need, organization, and to do for future).

The second standard they discussed was claims, reasons and evidence (Standard 8). Here, we are asking our students to use evidence from the text to support different points in a text. This helps students to begin questioning the text rather than accepting it as fact. I spent a lot of time with my 4th graders on this standard discussing supporting details and main ideas by actually allowing them to find an article from TFK. 

The last standard is comparing ideas and integrating information for two texts. The example they used was an article discussing whether bats are really scary and dangerous animals and they showed 2 other texts that students could use to compare the information they found. This reminded me of one of the seminars I went to at NYLA-SSL in April about text sets and the importance of collaboration with classroom teachers to develop these.

Overall, I really enjoyed this webinar. I liked having the flexibility to watch it when I wanted and will definitely use Edweb as well as some of the other recommeded sources in the future. I did not try and get PD credit for it as I have enough for this year but can see in the future applying for credit through webinars offered through these means.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

